WhatsApp provides three levels of verification for business profiles: regular, confirmed and verified. The level of verification determines how your customers view your profile on WhatsApp.
What does each level of verification mean?
When you have registered your number, you can ask Messagebird to apply for verification of your business. Once we've submitted your request, WhatsApp will evaluate your business profile and assign a suitable verification level. There are three levels of business name verification.
|Verified||WhatsApp has verified that an authentic brand owns this number. A Verified account has a green checkmark badge in its profile. Very few businesses will be WhatsApp verified. Being verified on Facebook or Instagram will not help your business be WhatsApp verified.|
|Confirmed||WhatsApp has confirmed that the phone number of this account matches the phone number for this business. A confirmed account has a grey checkmark badge in its profile.|
An account that is using one of WhatsApp's business products, but hasn't been confirmed nor verified by WhatsApp. A business account has a grey question mark badge in its profile.
By default, all numbers are in the “Regular” verification when connected to WhatsApp initially.
*MessageBird has no say in the verification level set by WhatsApp. Once a level has been assigned it's final.
How does each level look like for my customer?
Depending on your number verification level, your business will be displayed in different ways. However, as a rule of thumb, if a customer has already saved your number in their phone the name from the address book would always be displayed, that is, the Verified Name won't take precedence.
If the number is Verified, the Verified Name will be visible in the chat list, chat screens, chat groups, and contact view instead of the phone number. There will be a green 'Verified' checkmark in the contact view.
If the number is Confirmed, the Verified Name will only be visible in the contact view. All other views will show the phone number. The contact view will show a grey 'Confirmed' checkmark with the verified name in smaller text.
If it is a Regular number, the Verified Name will only be visible in the contact view, all other views will show the phone number. The contact view will show the account is a business account with the verified name in smaller text.
How can I request verification?
Please send an email to your account representative once your number has been approved.